Fizzikal

PE Sport and Physical Activity in Scotland and beyond

Back to the old Skool

Posted by drilly on April 15, 2008

I have been back at school for a week now after the initial onslaught of pupils, staff, information and policies I feel I am starting to get to grip once more with the demands of teaching and working in a school. You forget how physically and mentally tiring the job is but also the buzz enjoyment it generates most of the time. It feels like I have never been away. It’s a bit like riding a bike, but for me the bike needed its tyres pumped up and its chain oiled.

Sticking with the bike theme I spent the weekend with 7 other teachers from the school doing an Aberdeenshire mountain bike leaders course. I can honestly say that this is the most enjoyable CPD I have done for a long time, a combination of the content, Ibrahim Parkwho led the course, the other teachers on the course and the fact that it was free (well Aberdeenshire pick up the bill).

This course was the first of 2 which will result in Banchory having over 20 staff qualified to lead mountain bike groups. This is all part of our plan to introduce mountain biking in the curriculum and as an extra curricular activity with the money that we received from Norwich Union. The fleet of bikes are due to arrive at the end of the month I can’t wait. I will keep you up to date with our progress through the blog.

Leave a Reply

 
