Fizzikal

PE Sport and Physical Activity in Scotland and beyond

Strathclyde Uni ICT in PE

Posted by drilly on January 15, 2008

strath.png

Firstly I must appologise for being so slow to post the details of the ICT lecture for you.

I started off discussing the LTS PE website  and explored the resources contained within the site and some of the links to other sites. As we explored the differnt sites I introduced the wonderful free  web tool delicious to create online book marks for sites that you find interesting and useful It can then be accessed from any computer with an Internet connection. 

You may find my PE bookmarks  useful that I have set up using delicious. You may want to consider setting this up for your course or in a PE department whilst on teaching placement to tag interesting sites or share frequently visited sites with pupils and or staff. This can be accessed from any computer with an Internet connection.

For a simple guide watch the video below (You probably will be unable to view the video in school as it is hosted on YouTube).

I moved on to talk about Blogs  For a For those of you who want to know a bit more about blogging I previously posted this video explaining blogging in simple terms . If you want to give blogging a go check out this post on my school blog containing tutorials on setting up and using wordpress blogs and using netvibes. If you look on the “links” section on the left hand side near the top of the page I have links to several PE blogs that you may find interesting.

The next part of the presentation focused on wikis the following video (also on YouTube) will help you understand a little more about what a wiki is.

I demonstrated the Banchory H/Int2 wiki and explained that the content was there for people to download and use and share as long as they were willing to reciprocate and acknowledge the source. Wikis offer real scope for collaboration between teachers for resource development between teachers and pupils for learning. I explained that teachers can sign up for free wikis that are advert free at wikispaces. Wikispaces also has video tutorials to help get you started within their help section.

When I was discussing the wikis I highlighted using Youtube to incorporate inspirational and interesting videos. There is actually a lot of very good content on you tube and other video hosting sites such as google video. We use the videos as a hook for the pupils and also to make the wiki more attractive and lastly to engage the children though adopting a piece of their own culture. Our pupils are creating their own environments outside school with video audio text and many other applications in sites such as bebo and myspace and facebook and we want our wiki to reflect some of that cool.

I punctuated my presentation with videos I had saved to my computer from YouTube using Zamzar. This is very useful as  most schools block video sharing sites or you may want to play a video on a laptop in the gameshall  with no access to an internet connection. This article form Wired explains how to do it and the software you could use. I demonstrated Zamzar a free tool to allow you to save videos to your computer and it can also be used to convert files from one type to another

The next software I mentioned but did not demonstrate was Observing Children Moving I breifly described  how it could be used as a teacher or indeed a pupil resource. You can watch a review of this software on this Teachers TV video. The video also reviews 2 other pieces of software for use in PE.

The next pieces of software I discussed using were from Birchfield these included the PE specific content in the  lesson kits and lesson builder  I left out the Quiz Genie due to time constraints. Using the lesson kit I explained how you could use the predetermined content to run ready made multi media lessons to bring topics to life you can then use the quizzes and interactive activities to reinforce learning and check understanding. I then explained how you can use the lesson builder module to tailor the content to your own needs and create new lessons that use the Birchfield resources and/or your own resources.

The Quiz Genie I mentioned above can be used to make and play interactive PE quizzes and games.  They can be incorporated into practical lessons during non playing time in activities such as badminton and basketball using a laptop. I call this “stealth learning” effect where the pupils are engaged in playing games and don’t actually comprehend that they are learning the theory or the “boring bit” of PE as pupils often call it.

However if we just use the Birchfield or any similar resource to create lessons which we deliver to the pupils I think we are missing a trick and really all we are doing is a 21st century version of chalk and talk with bells and whistles added.  Use it for active learning give the pupils a task to design a presentation that allows them to incorporate text, audio, video animation and deliver it the rest of the class. Allow them to design the quizzes or drag and drop activities for each other then play them. This will develop ICT skills, literacy, communication and engage the pupils in the theory and in my opinion reinforce learning in a powerful way . How often have we said the pupils are great during practical but when we try to teach them any theory they switch off.

The presentation moved on to focus on Dartfish. I began giving an overview of the “player module” and how we use it with a bank of model performances or inspirational clips. We use these a focus for the lesson the video clips are our WALT and WILF for those of you familiar with AiFL. I then moved on to the “in the action module” using “Live Delay” and how it can be used with a class to give lots of visual feedback very simply and quickly. Then on to gathering clips and using some of the drawing tools like my favourite the “clone tool”.  I then moved on to comparing performances with a model performer and using the different options; side by side, picture in picture and basic blend. As I did all of this I demonstrated all these functions on the remote control which is brilliant as you can move away from the computer.

I then moved on to the “analyser module” and explained how to edit a new movie and add drawings to it, how to use the print facility to produce worksheets and finally media-books. I explained how we are using the media books to complete the NAB in Higher and Int 2 PE. The fact that the pupils can create a multimedia workbook with text video and audio is more engaging for the pupils and quicker and easier to complete than the NAB logbook. We have also used the media-books to complete Standard Grade evaluating questions. I highlighted the ability to create teaching, CPD resources and pupil tasks. I also mentioned that the media books can be shared and then viewed with a free piece of software Dartviewer that can be downloaded from Dartfish. I also demonstrated how you can produce printed worksheets that incorporates the content form the media books to and further supplement the learning resources. You can also download a free trial version but be sure to check out the system requirements to ensure your computer can run the software.

You can also get a bit more of an insight into Dartfish on my previous post “Using Dartfish at Stirling University” There are photos, a video clip to view and a Dartfish user guide that you can download and use.

Links to other websites I would have referred to during the presentation :

iTunes   Teachers TV PE videos   iDance   Get Physical

If anyone wishes to discus anything regarding the lecture or want some support developing their use of ICT write a comment in this post. Top maks to Murray the first to post a comment on the blog and get himself set up with a delicious account. You can also email me at i.stanger@LTScotland.org.uk or call me on my mobile if you want to talk to me 07811214922 

2 Responses to “Strathclyde Uni ICT in PE”

  1. […] Jones on Fear of FailureRussell Imrie on Gymnastics CPD opportunity…drilly on AboutStrathclyde Uni ICT … on Using Dartfish at Stirling […]

  2. […] Uni hope they found it a useful input. Most of what I talked to today can be found in this previous post. I also think you will find this post  interesting. Don’t forget to click on the ICT IN PE […]

Leave a Reply

 
